Saturday, January 26, 2008

How do I use Quartz Composer?

Uh? Isn't that a development graphics tool? What does that have to do with Pages?

Admittedly not very much, but for some situations you may want to use Quartz Composer to modify pictures or text you have converted to an image. There are better and easier tools out there, but none is cheaper than Quartz Composer as it comes with the OS. If you want to experiment with it, here is some advice to get you going:
  1. Install the Development Tools from your Mac OS X installation DVD, unless you already have them.
  2. Go to Developer > Applications, and open Quartz Composer.
  3. Create a new file from the template "Image Filter". (The main differences between this one and a blank file is the fact that the a flag in Editor > Edit Protocol Performance already is set to "Image Filter", which makes sure you get all required patches.)
  4. Remove the optional elements and the macro called "Process the Image".
  5. Go to Editor > Show Patch Parameters.
  6. Double-click on the image, and choose the image you want to use yourself.
  7. Click on Edit > Show Patch Creator.
  8. Choose any patch you fancy, for example Image Transform. (Others, like Twirl, also work.)
  9. Click on the Output node on the patch "Image (required) _protocolInput_Image" and drag it to the left Image node of "Image Transform", so you get a yellow line that links the two.
  10. Click on the node "Transformed Image" from Image Transform and drag it to the Input node of the patch "Image (required) _protocolOutput_Image".
  11. (Optional) You can also add a Filter like "Circular Wrap Distortion" before the Image Transform. The method is the same as when you added the patch in step 8. You just have to connect the nodes.
  12. Unless the Viewer is already visible, go to Window > Show Viewer.
  13. Unless it is already running, click on the Run button.
  14. Click on the patch Image Transform and change its parameters.
  15. Experiment. Change or add other patches, to see the changes.
  16. If you find a result you like, save the file.
  17. Drag the file you created to an open Pages document, where it will appear as an image - or actually a movie - in case you added any moving elements.

How do I create Word Art with Pages?

You cannot.

If you want to let the letters dance over the page following curves or shapes, you have to go beyond Pages.

A few other products that support wordart like features are Art Text and Comic Life, but there are more ones out there. You can check Version tracker for more alternatives.

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

How do I add keyboard shortcuts?

To see Pages' keyboard shortcuts, you can go to the Help menu > Keyboard Shortcuts.

Just like in any other Mac OS application, you can also see at the end of each menu command, if there is shortcut for it.



To add your own shortcuts to menu items follow these steps
  1. Go to System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard Shortcuts.
  2. Click on the + symbol.
  3. Select Pages from the Application list. The first time you will have to select the last value, "Other...", to add Pages to the list, as the list by default only contains applications directly in the Applications folder. Applications in sub-folders have to be added manually.
  4. Type the exact name of a menu command, for example "Export..."
  5. Press a keyboard combination including shift (⇧), control (⌃), alt (⌥) and/or command (⌘) and one other key, for example ⌃⌥⇧⌘E.
  6. Click "Add".



From now on Pages accepts ⌃⌥⇧⌘E as a shortcut to bring up the Export window, which you can see by pulling down the menu again.



There are some things to think about here. You can basically only assign shortcuts to menus. You can for example not add shortcuts to items in the inspector. Even though you can write "macros" for Pages using AppleScript, there is no way to assign shortcuts to the macros, as they reside in the Finder. However, you can assign "hotkeys" to Styles by clicking on the triangle next to the name in the Styles Drawer.

If there are several menu items with the same name, only one of them will get the shortcut.

If you change language in System Preferences, the shortcut will no longer work.

How do I attach a Pages document to an email?

In Pages '08 and earlier, each Pages document was a folder packages, something that confused a lot of mail programs.

In Pages '09, the files are just standard files by default. (You can change the default behaviour to packages in the preferences.) One easy way to mail files is to use the "Share" menu. Here you can send the front document using Mail.app in different formats.


If you want to mail a package, you can do that too:

1. Control-click or right-click on the file in Finder.


2. Choose "Compress ...." from the pop up menu.
3. You will get an "archive", a compressed zip-file, which you can attach to your mail, just like any other file.


The recipient will download the attachment, double click on it, and the original iWork file will be ready to be opened by Pages, Numbers or Keynote.

Sunday, January 20, 2008

How do I change the default zoom?

New documents always come up with the same zoom value (the percentage in the lower left corner of the document window). Sometimes that is far too big or far too small, so you may want to change it.

The simplest and safest way is to go to the menu Pages > Preferences, and change the Default Zoom value.

However, you may want to change it to a value that is not in the preferences dialogue, let's say 99%, for the sake of argument.

If you want to change the zoom for the current document only, you can use an AppleScript:

tell window 1 of application "Pages"
set view scale to 99
end tell

If you want to change the default value for all new documents, and you are willing to take a certain risk, you can manually edit the file ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.iWork.Pages.plist and set the parameter SLDefaultsPageScale to 0.9900000 (for 99%).

In Mac OS X before 10.7, you can also run the following command in the terminal. (Copy the entire line until 0.99 - not only what is visible. Blogspots HTML hides the end of the line.)
defaults write com.apple.iWork.Pages SLDefaultsPageScale 0.99

Friday, January 18, 2008

How do I add line numbers?

Pages does not have any easy switch to show or hide sequential numbers for each row.

You can switch on paragraph numbering in the Inspector > Text > List, but as soon as a paragraph goes over several lines, it will be out of sync.

Apple suggests that you create a numbered text box and put it on the master slide.



However, that kind of list will not work if you change the font size, like for a title, or if you insert an image that spans the full page width and disrupts the numbering.

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Spelling does not work. What can I do?

There are a couple of things to try:
  • Highlight all text and verify in the Inspector > Text > More, that a language is chosen.
  • "Clean up" the document by exporting it to some other format (MS Word or old Pages formats for example), and import it again.
  • Go to Applications > Utilities and run Disk Utility. Go to First Aid > Repair Disk Permissions. (It actually has worked for people with this problem.)
  • You may have an old version of CocoAspell. Update to a newer version, and the problem may go away. (If you do not even have it installed, do not bother upgrading, of course.)
  • Check username/Library/Services. If you see a file called "Spell Catcher Services.service", delete it, log out, and log back in.
  • Check username/Library/Services. If you see a file called "aspell.service", delete it, log out, and log back in.
  • Remove files from username/Library/Spelling
  • Check Username/Library/Application Support. If you have a folder there called "Spell Catcher", remove it.
  • Go to /Library/Caches and trash all files ending with .csstore, and then reboot.

How do I compress images in Pages?

You cannot.

Any image you import to Pages stays its original quality and size to allow print outs and exported PDF files to be as good as possible.

If you really want to save space, you have to compress the original image file in an external graphics editor, like iPhoto, Photoshop, Aperture, the gimp, or many others. This is not the place to evaluate which one is best, but there is a list of some possible ones at Wikipedia.

Even though you cannot compress the images within Pages, note that for the finished document, you can export a compressed PDF version from Pages using Share > Export. (Before Pages '09, the menu was File > Export.)

Sunday, January 13, 2008

Where did all those tabs come from?

When you open a Pages document, it has no visible tabulator stops at all.

However, there is a hidden set of default tab stops, just like in Open Office, Microsoft Word and many other word processors.

As soon as you add a manual tab stop to a paragraph, all previous default tabs disappear:


The distance between the hidden default tabs is defined in the inspector.



However, sometimes a paragraph suddenly gets plenty of visible tabs:

This can happen if you paste text from applications like TextEdit or AppleWorks. These applications do not have the concept of hidden default tabs, so they have to use real visible tabs instead.

The easiest way to get rid of them is to apply a paragraph style without tabs. You can often simply click on the red triangle to the right of the style name and choose "Revert to Defined Style".

Why can't I add Reflections or Adjust an Image?

The text below was written before Pages '09. With Pages '09, you can add reflections to shapes, but the other restrictions remain.

...

If you highlight an object and go to the Inspector > Graphic, it is possible that the Reflections checkbox is greyed out. And if you go to View > Show Adjust Image, it is possible that none of the controls work.

This may be because you
a) have not highlighted anything. (Make sure you clicked on the image.)
b) have highlighted something that is not an image. Images can for example be PNG, JPEG, GIF, TIFF with or without layers and transparency in CMYK, LAB or RGB colour space.

You cannot add reflections to inserted shapes (Insert > Shape > whatever), tables, text or charts, even though you can add shadows and change transparency for them. Neither can you use the Adjust Image window with them.

Reflections work only on images and PDF files you have inserted from elsewhere (for example with Insert > Choose... or drag-and-drop from the Finder).

Adjust Image only works on images but not on inserted PDF files.

Why does Pages have these limitations? It is because PDF files and inserted shapes are vector graphics. They have a completely different way of handling colours. Take for example the slider for "Sharpness". To apply sharpness to bitmap graphics, you simply change the surrounding pixels a little. However, for vector graphics, there is nothing called "surrounding pixels", to that kind of adjustment does not work.

The main problem here is not that Pages does not apply adjustments to vector graphics. The main problem is that it does not provide any user feedback why it cannot be done, and what the user can do to get around the problem.


In this image the left circle is a shape from Insert > Shape > Oval, so it does not accept reflections. The right circle is an image that was dragged onto the document from the Finder, so the reflection works fine.

Saturday, January 12, 2008

How do I add an indent?

There is no keyboard shortcut to add a paragraph indent, as there are in some other programs, but apart from that it works like almost every other word processor.

Display the ruler, if it is not already displayed. (⌘-r)



Drag the small blue rectangle in the ruler so it is to the right of the blue triangle to create an indent.



Drag the small blue rectangle in the ruler so it is to the left of the blue triangle to create a hanging indent. You may have to move the blue triangle first.



You can achieve the same thing by typing numbers in the inspector.

You can also make the paragraph look like it has an indent by starting it with a tab or a couple of spaces, but then you will have to repeat that for every new paragraph. The easiest thing is often to use the ruler or inspector to create an indent, and then to create a new style from the current text, so you can reuse exactly the same format at other places in the document.

Thursday, January 10, 2008

Pages prints to the wrong printer. Why?

Some people have reported Pages to print to the wrong printer all the time. They set up one default printer, but Pages insists on printing to a different one. Apparently Pages sometimes saves printer information in a file or template, so the files want to print on a particular printer. Perhaps this happens after one has changed some printer dependent page setup parameters.

The solution can be to copy the content of the file to another file - preferably one created with another template.

How do I exchange files InDesign, Publisher or other DTP applications?

There is no easy way to export a file from Pages so it can be opened by Desktop Publishing Applications like Adobe InDesign, Microsoft Publisher or Quark Express. Neither is there any elegant way to export from those applications so one can open the file in Pages.


Let's just look at InDesign as an example of the problems.

From Pages to InDesign

If you copy formatted text from Pages to InDesign, it will loose all the formatting - font, size, typeface and so on.

If you copy a Text Box from Pages to InDesign, it becomes a graphic. You can no longer correct spelling mistakes or change fonts.

If you copy an image with an alpha channel for transparency and the setting Wrap text to follow the contour of the object, and paste it to InDesign, it will be pasted correctly with a transparent part - however, you will have to set the wrap setting as you want it manually - for each image obviously.

From InDesign to Pages

If you copy formatted text from InDesign to Pages, it will keep part of the formatting, like font and size. However, some features that are not supported by Pages, like kerning, will obviously be discarded.

If you copy a Text Box from InDesign to Pages, it becomes a pdf graphic. You can no longer correct spelling mistakes or change fonts.

If you try to Select All in InDesign and copy it to Pages, it will become a non editable pdf graphic of that page.


Solution

If you have a document in the format of another dtp application and want to work on it in Pages instead, the only solution is often to manually copy and paste piece after piece, and then to correct the formatting that was lost.

However, if there is one page, which you want to create in another application, you can usually save it to PDF from that other application, and you can then paste or insert the PDF as a picture to Pages.

Wednesday, January 09, 2008

Where do I find more templates?

If you want to find more templates than what is already included with Pages, there are several places on the web where you can find some. Try for example iWorkCommuniy. On the web you can also find some commercial ones that may fit your needs, but make sure you know what you get before you buy them.

As you can import Word files, if you find some nice MS Word templates, you can create Pages templates from them. You may need to change the extension from .dot to .doc to be able to import them.

Tuesday, January 08, 2008

How do I create macros in Pages?

The way to create macros in Pages 3.0 is to use AppleScript.

Unfortunately, Pages is not recordable, unlike some programs where you can record a series of actions you perform into an editable script. For Pages you will have to create your scripts manually.

To see what kind of things can be done with Pages, open Applications > AppleScript > Script Editor, and go to the menu File > Open Dictionary > Pages.

To see some examples of scripts people already have made for Pages, make a Google search for "tell application pages".

To get a list of resources about AppleScript in general, use for example Wikipedia.

There is currently no way to add menus or buttons with your own scripts to Pages' menus or toolbars.


Pages' AppleScript dictionary as displayed in Script Editor.